Saturday, April 12, 2014


Crankenstein - picturebook

Berger, Samantha. Illus. Dan Santat. Crankenstein. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2013. Print.

ISBN-13: 9780316126564

Summary: Crankenstein is a picture book about a little boy who gets very cranky when things don’t go his way. 

Strength/Weaknesses: Crankenstein is a delightfully illustrated book about a boy who gets upset over things- waiting in long lines, having to take cough medicine, when it is too hot for popsicles. People of all ages can relate to Crankenstein during these times. He is drawn to look similar to Frankenstein’s monster in a green color with a scowl on his face. He seems to always be cranky, that is until he meets another Crankenstein and laughter changes him back into a kid. Even the endpapers follow Crankenstein’s moods-the front has a gray and rainy look, while the back has smiling sunshine pictures. Removing the dust cover reveals even more gems-the front cover has a picture captioned ‘Anatomy of a Crankenstein’ with an illustration of Crankenstein with labels such as “A sneer from ear to ear” and “runny nose woes.” The back cover shows the back of Crankenstein and more labeled parts. This book is a funny book that kids will love. It is a topic they will be able to identify with and is beautifully illustrated with full color pages. 

Uses: Crankenstein can be used in the early grades to talk about made-up words - ‘Crankenstein’ and ‘MEHHRRRRR’ and how these words make this little boy seem very cranky. It can also be used during a unit on feelings with other books of a similar nature. 

Audience: Crankenstein is recommended for ages 3-6.

Read-alikes: Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst, Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds, illus. by Peter Brown, Llama Llama Mad at Mama by Anna Dewdney

Awards: This book has won no awards.

No comments: